ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019

ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019.The Undoubtedly, the ICC World Cup, also known as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, stands as the pinnacle event in the cricketing realm.

Image Source:(Google)

ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019.

It holds the distinction of being one of the most widely viewed sporting spectacles across the globe.

Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) once every four years, it gathers immense attention and captivates audiences with its grandeur and excitement.

The inaugural edition of the World Cup took place in 1975 in England, where it all began.

Following its success, England continued to host the next two editions, maintaining their role as gracious hosts.

However, a significant shift occurred when the World Cup ventured beyond Europe. In 1987, the event took on a new dimension as India and Pakistan co-hosted the tournament, marking a momentous occasion.

Notably, this edition 1987 introduced a pivotal change, reducing the number of overs per innings from 60 to 50, shaping the future of the game.

In 1992, Australia and New Zealand united as co-hosts, injecting fresh energy and excitement into the competition.

This particular edition witnessed several notable modifications, including the introduction of colored clothing, the adoption of the white ball instead of the traditional red ball, and the introduction of day-night matches, adding a captivating twist to the World Cup experience.

Then, in 1996, the World Cup returned to the subcontinent, with India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka sharing hosting duties.

This edition brought together the cricket-loving nations of the subcontinent, creating an electric atmosphere and renewing the passion for the game among the fervent fans.

Read More About ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019.

3 years later, the ICC World Cup made its triumphant return to English shores (England, Scotland, Ireland, Netherlands, Wales), where cricket enthusiasts eagerly awaited the tournament’s arrival.

The excitement didn’t stop there as the event ventured into new territory in 2003, marking the first time it was held on African soil(South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya), captivating fans across the continent.

In 2007, the West Indies took on the role of hosts, showcasing their passion for the sport and adding their unique flavor to the tournament.

Then, in 2011, a momentous collaboration unfolded as India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh joined forces to co-host the World Cup, creating a truly memorable and diverse experience.

Image Source:(Google)

In 2015, the World Cup returned to Australia and New Zealand, marking their second co-hosting stint since the groundbreaking 1992 edition.

The tournament witnessed the collective enthusiasm of two cricketing nations, who once again embraced the opportunity to showcase their world-class venues and hospitality.

Four years later, in 2019, the United Kingdom(England, Wales) took center stage once more, graciously hosting the tournament after a hiatus of two decades, reigniting the cricket fervor among passionate fans and offering a fitting backdrop for the grandest stage of the game.

ICC World Cup Winners List:

The ICC World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2019 showcases an exciting journey of cricket triumphs.

In the inaugural edition of 1975, West Indies emerged victorious, defeating Australia in a thrilling final.

Their incredible performance continued in next Icc world Cup 1979 where they successfully defended their title as by defeating England in the final match.

However, in the third edition, Sir Kapildev led India dashed West Indies’ hopes of achieving a hat-trick of World Cup wins by claiming their maiden championship.

In 1987, Australia celebrated their first-ever World Cup victory, marking a significant milestone in their cricketing history.

Pakistan followed suit in 1992, claiming their maiden championship title. Then, in 1996, under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga, Sri Lanka achieved an extraordinary triumph that etched their name in the annals of cricketing glory.

Image Source:(Google)

Australia’s reign of dominance commenced three years later, as they embarked on a remarkable journey by winning the first of three consecutive World Cups.

Guided by Ricky Ponting’s exceptional leadership, Australia clinched back-to-back victories in 2003 and 2007, solidifying their status as cricketing champions.

A significant turning point in the history of the ICC World Cup occurred in 2011 when home teams began to assert their dominance.

India paved the way by becoming the first-ever team to claim the coveted title on their home soil. Subsequently, Australia and England followed suit in 2015 and 2019, replicating the feat by securing World Cup victories in their respective countries.

Image Source:(Google)

Among all the cricketing nations, Australia stands out as the most successful side in the tournament’s history, having triumphed a remarkable five times.

In addition to Australia’s remarkable record, there are only two other nations that have achieved multiple World Cup titles: West Indies and India.

Both West Indies and India have emerged victorious on two occasions, showcasing their prowess in the tournament.

Alongside them, there are three other teams who have tasted World Cup glory: Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England, each securing the prestigious title in their respective campaigns.

Here are the details list of ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019

ICC World Cup winners List and runner-up List Year Wise:

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand
Image Source:(Google)

ICC World Cup winners List :Team-wise list Winners, Runner-Up, Total Numbers of Year Won and Years Runner-Up:

TeamWinnersRunner-upYears WonYears Runner-up
Australia521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
West Indies211975, 19791983
India211983, 20112003
Sri Lanka1219962007, 2011
England1320191979, 1987, 1992
New Zealand022015, 2019
Image Source:(Google)

ICC World Cup Final Man of the match in the list:

YearPlayerPerformance Details
1975Clive Lloyd102
1979Viv Richards138*
1983Mohinder Amarnath3/12
1987David Boon75
1992Wasim Akram33 and 3/49
1996Aravinda de Silva107* and 3/42
1999Shane Warne4/33
2003Ricky Ponting140*
2007Adam Gilchrist149
2011MS Dhoni91*
2015James Faulkner3/36
2019Ben Stokes84*

ICC World Cup-Winning Captain List:

Clive Lloyd was the first captain to lift the title among the World Cup-winning captains. He lift the title in 1975. 4 years later, Lloyd led West Indies to victory again in 1979. Only Clive LIoyd and Ricky Ponting have won more than one World Cup title as captain.

Image Source:(Google)

ICC World Cup winning captains and his Country list:

1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland
Image Source:(Google)

We discussed above about the ICC World Cup winners and ICC World Cup winners as a Captain, country.Please stay tuned for more updates.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top