IPL Final 2023: Ms Dhoni Equals Title Win Record As a Captain in IPL

Ms Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings equalled the five Indian Premier League (IPL) titles held by Mumbai Indians. They clinched a thrilling last-ball victory over the Gujarat Titans in a rain-affected final in Ahmedabad.

Ms Dhoni equal title win record as a captain in IPL

Read Also: IPL Winner List 2008 to 2024

The match witnessed a gripping contest as Gujarat, batting first, posted a formidable total of 214-4, Sai Sudharsan show his explosive knock of 96 off 47 balls.

In pursuit of a revised target of 171 from 15 overs following a rain delay, Chennai endured a nail-biting encounter. It was only in the final moments that Ravindra Jadeja’s heroics secured their triumph, as he scored 10 runs off the last two deliveries to secure the win.

Sunil Gavaskar’s Autograph Request from MS Dhoni(IPL-2023)Click Here

Originally scheduled for Sunday, the final had to be rescheduled due to persistent rain.

After winning the toss, Chennai captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni opted to field. The opening batsman for Gujarat, Shubman Gill, had been in excellent form with three centuries in his previous four innings.

 Gill’s luck seemed to be favoring him when he was dropped by Deepak Chahar early on, and he survived a run-out scare as well.

However, Jadeja made amends in the same over by dismissing Gill with a sharp stumping by Dhoni.

Wriddhiman Saha also got a reprieve when Chahar failed to hold onto a return catch.

Nonetheless, Saha’s innings was eventually ended by Chahar, with Dhoni taking the catch.

Sudharsan then launched a blistering assault on the Chennai bowlers, hitting consecutive sixes off Matheesha Pathirana in the final over to come close to a century.

Although he fell short of the milestone, Gujarat managed to cross the 200-run mark.

Chennai’s openers faced just three balls before rain interrupted play, resulting in a delay of two hours and 20 minutes.

Upon resumption, Ruturaj Gaikwad (26) and Devon Conway (47) put Chennai in a strong position by amassing 72 runs in the initial six overs.

However, in the seventh over, Noor Ahmad dismissed both batsmen, injecting fresh excitement into the contest.

Shivam Dube, unbeaten on 32, kept Chennai in the hunt, but Mohit Sharma’s consecutive dismissals of Ambati Rayudu and Dhoni added further tension.

With 13 runs required off the last over from Mohit, Chennai’s prospects seemed uncertain.

However, Jadeja rose to the occasion, smashing a six over the bowler’s head and sealing the victory with a boundary on the next delivery.

 Reflecting on the nerve-wracking final over, Jadeja expressed his determination to swing hard and hit straight, knowing that anything could happen in such a crucial moment.

Ms Dhoni’s journey to the pinnacle of IPL success

In a historic feat, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the legendary cricketer and former captain of the Indian cricket team, secured his fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title, cementing his status as one of the most successful captains in the tournament’s history.

 The IPL 2023 victory not only brought glory to the Chennai Super Kings but also placed Dhoni alongside Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Mumbai Indians, in the esteemed club of five-time IPL title winners.

1st IPL Title

Dhoni’s journey to the pinnacle of IPL success began in 2010 when he led the Chennai Super Kings to their maiden IPL title.

2nd IPL Title

The team’s remarkable performance under his leadership continued in 2011, as they clinched their second IPL championship.

3rd IPL Title

After a brief hiatus, Dhoni’s captaincy prowess once again shone through in 2018 when he guided the Super Kings to their third title, showcasing his ability to build a formidable team.

4th Ipl Title

In 2021, Dhoni proved that age is just a number as he defied expectations and inspired his team to lift the coveted IPL trophy for the fourth time.

5th IPL Title

However, it was in the IPL 2023 final against the Gujarat Titans that Dhoni and his team faced their sternest test yet. The highly anticipated clash turned out to be a last-ball thriller, keeping fans on the edge of their seats until the final delivery.

Jadeja’s sublime batting skills

With the Gujarat Titans setting a challenging target, the Chennai Super Kings’ chase demanded unwavering determination and nerves of steel.

The tension escalated with each passing over, as the outcome of the game hung in the balance.

 It was in this intense atmosphere that Ravindra Jadeja emerged as the hero of the moment, delivering a performance that will be etched in the memories of cricket enthusiasts for years to come.

Jadeja’s sublime batting skills and nerves of steel were on full display as he calmly strode to the crease.

The pressure was immense, and every run mattered. In a breathtaking display of skill and composure, Jadeja scored 10 runs off the last two deliveries, securing a dramatic victory for the Chennai Super Kings.

The scenes of jubilation that followed encapsulated the sheer ecstasy and joy that the team and its fans experienced in that moment.

For Dhoni, this triumph was not just about another trophy in the cabinet but a testament to his exceptional leadership and unmatched ability to bring out the best in his team. Over the years, he has nurtured young talent, instilled a winning mentality, and created a culture of success within the Chennai Super Kings.

With his fifth IPL title, Dhoni has etched his name in the annals of cricketing history. His remarkable achievements stand as a testament to his brilliance as a captain and his invaluable contribution to the game. Alongside Rohit Sharma, he now shares the record for the most IPL titles won by a captain, solidifying his legacy as one of the greatest leaders in the history of the IPL.

As the curtains fall on another enthralling IPL season, cricket fans worldwide will forever remember the IPL 2023 final as a thrilling contest that showcased the undying spirit and tenacity of the Chennai Super Kings, led by the incomparable Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top